Akki Rotti/rice bhakri

When I was a kid, I only knew one type of akki rotti, which is crunchy, crispy and easy to make. That is the regular one. (All kannadiga’s know this type of akki rotti, especially people from South Karnataka)

But, after my sisters marriage, I tasted this kind of a akki rotti, where you need to boil water, add rice flour and prepare a dough. 

When I first tasted it, I liked it, but said to myself that I cannot compare this to the Akki rotti that my mum makes. For that kind of Rotti, you don’t need any side dishes at all. It’s got everything in it. (I will soon post about other type of AKKI ROTTI [it’s simillar to Thalipit])

When ever I make this (boiled akki rotti), I used to fail rolling it but I still somehow managed to make rotti’s. But one day, when I was alone, I wanted to try and prepare this properly. ( Even today it’s not perfect but it’s close enough) and I succeeded!! Yay! even my daughter loved it!! My daughter, who always wanted Pasta, pizza, toast etc, liked it, that too with enne gai!! She hates brinjal/aubregine. So since then, I started making Akki rotti with Enne gai every now and then. 

If you are doing it for the first time…you may succeed, but dont worry if you don’t!!! it comes only by practice. You can use  any nonsticky paper or banana leaves(if you are in India) to roll the dough into rotti.

Ingredients to prepare Akki Rotti:-

  • Rice flour ( desired quantity, one cup will make , two rotties)
  • 1  cup water
  • 1 table spoon oil
  • salt to taste

Method:

Heat the water in a thick based vessel. Add salt and oil.When the water starts boiling, add the rice flour slowly, Simmer the flame, don’t mix the flour, let it boil for 5 min. Then mix it. keep it on the stove for 5 more minutes. Wet your hand and touch the dough, it should’nt be sticky- If it is, then it’s not finished yet, but if it’s not then its done. Remove from the stove and wait for some time, knead the dough when it is still slightly hot. To make the dough smooth and soft use little water or oil. Knead it thouroughly.

If the dough has come out well, you’ll be able to roll it without any cracks.Take a small ball of dough in your hand and roll it flat and  fry the rotti on the Tava/flat pan. Your rotti is ready. 

If you get a nice rotis, you can fry them on the flame. Since I don’t have a gas stove I just fry them like a chapati.

You can eat this rotti, with coconut chutney, or with any other curry. But we (my family) love it with enne gai.Image

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Preeti
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 18:46:29

    I love tandalachi bhakri too. Since it is light and crisp it tastes amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Blogs I Follow

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

