Enne Gai (Recipe)

Back in My Mother’s house, because of my father, my mother never tried new recipes for lunch. Whenever she made a new dish, they would have an argument. My father always wanted (even to this day) ‘Sambhar’ and Rice for lunch.

Even when we went out, he used to order Masala dosé for us.  Of course I love Masal Dosé, but during my childhood, I used to think, why can’t I order “Poori-sagu” (puffed Indian bread with curry)? Why always Masal dose?

What I wanted to tell you is, I never tasted different kinds of food in my childhood. Not even any north Indian Dishes. Until I got married.

After marriage, we (me and my husband) lived in Delhi for 2 years. Once during our visit to Bangalore, my father took us to this restaurant and said will have JOLADA ROTTI OOTA!! Jolada Rotti Oota is an authentic North Karnataka lunch, which mainly has Jolada rotti which is a type of Indian bread made from millett flour/jawar flour and eaten with ennegai (i.e., stuffed brinjal/small aubergine) curry and typical Dharwad dals, vegetables, salads, etc. I fell in love with Enne gai on that day.

But never tried to prepare it at home because it can be ordered very easily. Craving for jolada rotti and ennegai? Just go to the restaurant and eat!! That’s all J easy isn’t it?

These days there are lots of food joints of Darwad authentic homemade food.

I was missing (even today I miss Jolada rotti, which I can’t make. One need lots of experience to make it) enne gai. One day I thought that I should try to make it, but didn’t have the recipe. I tried to prepare it based on the taste which is still on my taste buds!! It was ok. I asked my son what he thought of it, he said that it wasn’t even close to how it tasted in the restaurants.

My older sister, who is an expert in cooking, gave me some ideas. So the next time I used that recipe and my son said that it was good.

Thanks to Suma Vijay, who prepared this ennegai for a get-together, I got to try enne gai again after a long time. So I thought that I should give you her recipe. Although, I had to try to prepare this dish by myself, because she didn’t give me any measurements. I tried my best and finally my foodie son gave me a thumbs up!! J

Ingredients to fry and ground into powder/paste

  • 1table spoon urad dal
  • 1 table spoon chana dal
  • 1 table spoon tur dal
  • 1 table spoon moong dal
  • 2 table spoon coriander seeds (or more)
  • Hand full of curry leaves
  • 2 sticks cinnamon
  • Dry red chillies according to your taste
  • 1 tea spoon methi/fenugreek seeds
  • 1tea spoon cumin seeds/jeera
  • 1/2 tea spoon hing/asafoetida

Dry roast these ingredients, and make a powder.

  • 1 table spoon black till/sesame seeds(roasted)
  • ½ table spoon of  pea nuts (roasted)
  • ½ a cup freshly  grated coconut

Now mix these ingredients to the powder and grind it again. Let it be coarse.

There are two methods to prepare this dish, one is the typical method and the other is Suma Vijay’s method.

Method 1 (Suma’s Method):

Soak the tamarind and prepare its juice by squeezing it. Wash the small aubergines and slice them into four sides (make sure you don’t cut them into pieces).  Chop one or two onions. Add this to the tamarind juice, add lots of chopped coriander leaves and a little bit of jaggery (just for flavour, don’t make it sweet). Add ground spices and add aubergine to this. Add salt according to your taste. Cook this on a medium high flame, until the aubergines are soft.

For this method you can wet grind the mixture and if you want more taste, add 2-3 cloves of garlic.

Method 2 (Typical Method):

Same ingredients, but instead you need to stuff the aubergine with the powder and you need to shallow fry it on a pan. Make sure you fry all sides of the aubergine properly. Once the aubergines are soft, add the tamarind juice, chopped onions, coriander leaves, salt and rest of the powder. Let it cook nicely. (Make sure you add the chopped onions, coriander leaves and the powder to the tamarind juice at the start)

Enjoy with your ennegai either with rice rotti, millet, or even with chapattis.

I was late in uploading this recipe, because both my “laptop” and my editor were busy!!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Preeti
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 18:50:00

    Wow bharli vangi and bhakri!! nothing like it. We have plans for the same tomorrow.This masala looks rather interesting.

    Reply

  2. sonika
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 02:04:12

    Hey i like bharli vangi with jowar or bajri bhakri n techa. Suberb combination.
    Your recipe is different . I will try it next time.
    I still remember your akki roti ( with green chillies n coriander) which you prepared for potluck at Sweta’ s place.
    Keep posting different recipes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Blogs I Follow

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

