Falafel- salad

After coming to UK, I have been learning and also trying new recipes. Being a vegetarian, I am very fussy about eating. I never used to try eating (or even taste) anything other than Indian food. Apart from pizza and burger which I’ve always been eating 😉
My husband visited Istanbul on office work. After coming returning, he spoke about a “sandwich”. He said that it’s really tasty and that it’s vegetarian, and If I got an opportunity, I had to try. He said it’s got a pitta bread and vegetables and some ” burger” kind of a thing in it. It’s called as falafel. I never got a chance 😔

In my childrens’ school, we have a big international support group. We all are from different countries.
We help in fundraising by selling our food, or providing it for tasting in an international evening or during Christmas market.

Being a vegetarian I never got an opportunity to explore, as most of the food used to be non vegetarian or contains egg. Which again I don’t eat.
But I’ve some really nice friends… Last years Christmas market, my Lebanon friend who is originally Armenian, called me and said ”Shashi, this time I am making a vegetarian dish, you’ve to taste”. I was really happy. But I was so busy in doing Henna painting… By the time I finished..the dish was gone!!
So I couldn’t eat it.

But one day my dear husband (once a blue moon he cooks) came with lots of grocery and said “I am going to prepare today’s dinner”.
At first, as usual, I made a funny face. But when I finally started eating… I really liked it. Both my children loved it!!
But the falafel was ready to mix… Tesco food pack. I didn’t wanted to use it.
I’ve subscribed to “Manjula’s Kitchen” I got a mail… Saying falafel salad!!
So here is the out come!!
Thanks to Manjula’s kitchen (on youtube)
I’ve added extra ingredients to the salad. http://www.manjulaskitchen.com/2010/05/19/falafel-sandwich/

I’ve added cheese, because my children love cheese a lot.
Try it. If you have a different recipe or another method… Share it!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Blogs I Follow

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

