Maddur Vade

20130902-131559.jpg

Hello All!! It’s been a year since I started blogging!
And I have more than 5450 views/visitors. Even though I am not blogging consistently, I still enjoy sharing my cooking and paintings with my readers and followers. I would like to thank, with all my heart, my friend Preeti Deo, who encouraged me and helped me to start this blog.
When I posted about “Maddur Vade”, I said “I’ll post the recipe by weekend”. Unfortunately, I couldn’t keep up my promise, I would like to apologize for that.
Maddur is a small town in Karnataka. Anyone who travels to Mysore, by train, will never miss the opportunity to buy “Maddur Vade”, when they arrive at the Maddur station. It is really very very tasty only in the train station!! Of course you can get tasty Maddur Vade in restaurants in town, but the train station VADE has got some special taste in it!!
I learnt making this delicious snack from my Mom, who makes awesome Maddur Vade.
After coming to the UK, I really miss those snacks, hence I started making them in my “English Kitchen”.

It’s a very simple recipe.

Required ingredients are:

. Maida/plain flour, rice flour and refined semolina (chiroti rave)
all the 3 of same quantity.
. finely chopped onions (more the tastier)
.green chillie- finely chopped ( according to your requirement)
. Hand full of coriander, and curry leaves, finely chopped
. 1/4 quantity of curd (yogurt)
. salt according to taste.
. Water to bind all the ingredients.

cooking instructions :

Dry roast all the three flours for 2-3 minutes. You need not “roast” them till they’re brown.
Add all the above ingredients and make a dough.Divide them into equal parts and make small balls. Flatten them and deep fry them in oil. Delicious Maddur Vade is ready!
Eat with coconut chutney or if you want you can even eat it with ketchup/sauce. (Though it tastes better with coconut chutney.)
Enjoy Maddur Vade and let me know if you liked it.

Image

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Blogs I Follow

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

ISingCakes

... & more

